Go to global navigation

Read the article

Go to side contents

Go to footer

Nagoya City Guide

Home > Location / Access > Nagoya City Guide

A major city in the western part of Aichi (Owari Province), and the home of the Aichi prefectural government. Nagoya is composed of 16 districts. Excluding the Tokyo wards, Nagoya has the third largest population among Japanese cities, following Yokohama and Osaka. It is the political, economic, cultural, and transportation center of the Chukyo area. Some of the large busy downtown areas are Sakae, Meieki, Osu and Kanayama. Sakae and Meieki are developing a huge underground shopping street. Accordingly, there is a robust subway system. It has been designated as one of the Creative Cities by UNESCO in 2008.